Verdon Gorges - Les Gorges du Verdon

Verdon Gorge

Gorges du Verdon

The Verdon Gorge.

TOURTOUR

TourtourTourtour undoubtedly deserves a stopover on your holiday. At 630 meters, it offers a fascinating view on the Provence countryside. This elevated position and the unique view that can rightly earned its nickname in Tourtour "Village in the sky".

About twenty minutes of the Verdon Gorges and Lake St. Croix, near Aups, Tourtour is a typical village of Provence, well restored and maintained. The main square, cozy and shaded, is always busy as tourists, even in winter, like to walk there. Each lane has traditional houses of great elegance. Most are restored with a clear commitment to respect the character of this village, and the result is truly successful.

Tourtour, village dans le cielAround the village, water is present in source form (the main source is called the Holy Rosary), and it has no fewer than eight fountains! This is not only refreshing, but it adds to the song of the running water, which is not for nothing in charm Tourtour.

Take time to cool off the main square of the village, or wander the streets exploring the shops located there. You also can visit an oil mill still in operation and a very interesting Museum of Fossils.

Tourtour, this village in medieval style is undoubtedly one of the most beautiful village in Provence, and probably France.

Hotels Tourtour
A list of hotels in Tourtour
Hotels Verdon Gorges

Camping Tourtour
A list of campgrounds in Tourtour
Campings Verdon Gorges

Gites Tourtour
A list of lodgings - Bed and Breakfast in Tourtour
Bed and Breakfast Verdon Gorges

Tourtour Pictures

Rue de Tourtour Tourtour place Eglise Tourtour Passage voûté Tourtour Château de Tourtour Maisons Tourtour

Tourisme dans les Gorges du Verdon

TOURTOUR

Village dans le cielTourtour mérite sans conteste une halte sur la route de vos vacances. A 630 mètres d'altitude, il vous offrira un panorama incomparable sur la campagne provençale. Cette position élevée et la vue exceptionnelle qu'elle permet ont valu à juste titre à Tourtour son surnom de "village dans le ciel".

A une vingtaine de minutes des gorges du Verdon et du lac de Sainte Croix, près d'Aups, Tourtour est un village typique de Provence, fort bien restauré et entretenu. La place principale, accueillante et ombragée, est toujours animée car les touristes, même l'hiver, aiment à s'y promener. Chaque ruelle offre des maisons traditionnelles d'une grande élégance. La plupart sont restaurées avec une volonté très nette de respecter le cachet de ce village, et le résultat est véritablement réussi.

Place principalePartout dans le village, l'eau est présente sous forme de sources (la source principale est nommée le Saint-Rosaire); et on ne compte pas moins de huit fontaines ! C'est non seulement rafraîchissant, mais s'ajoute à cela la chanson de cette eau courante, qui n'est pas pour rien dans le charme de Tourtour.

Prenez le temps de vous rafraîchir sur la place principale du village, ou arpentez les ruelles à la découverte des magasins qui s'y trouvent. Vous aurez également la possibilité de visiter un moulin à huile toujours en activité et un très intéressant Musée des Fossiles.
Ce village au cachet médiéval est sans conteste un des plus beaux village de Provence, et sans doute de France.

En images

Une rue du village Place près du château Eglise Château Maisons