Verdon Gorges - Les Gorges du Verdon

ROUGON

Rougon village des Gorges du VerdonYou will find the village of Rougon a little away from the road along the Gorges du Verdon. At the height of Point Sublime, you will take a narrow and winding road that will push you to land more arid landscapes toughest. At a bend, you will see a huge rock. And finally, you will discover, nestled at the foot of this huge block of stone, a small village, quiet, medieval-style and charm of Provence.

It's Rougon, placed there as a perfect stop to admire the magnificent scenery of the Alpes de Haute Provence. Alone amidst a setting stripped of great majesty, and a breathtaking dimension, Rougon offers stunning views of the Grand Canyon du Verdon.

The Rougonnais were once dubbed the "Eat Acorns", which shows that wealth was not to go to every home! And indeed, the village has seen its population decline over the centuries and is now reduced to less than 90 people ...

But tourism drained by the Gorges du Verdon is back from vacation to force this country that allows you to beautiful hikes in exceptional views.

Whether you walk through the typical streets of Provence, or to dive look at the bottom of the gorge, or wear it on the surrounding peaks, you will not regret one second of having this very slight detour on the usual routes.

Hotels Rougon
A list of hotels in Rougon
Hotels Verdon Gorges

Camping Rougon
A list of campgrounds in Rougon
Campings Verdon Gorges

Gites Rougon
A list of lodgings - Bed and Breakfast in Rougon
Bed and Breakfast Verdon Gorges

Rougon Pictures

Gorges du Verdon Les gorges depuis le Point Sublime Rougon, niché contre un rocher Rougon - Alpes de Haute Provence Chapelle Saint Christophe

Tourisme dans les Gorges du Verdon

ROUGON

RougonVous trouverez le village de Rougon un peu à l'écart de la route qui longe les Gorges du Verdon. A la hauteur du Point Sublime, vous emprunterez une route étroite et sinueuse qui vous fera grimper vers des terres plus arides, des paysages plus rudes. Au détour d'un virage, vous verrez un énorme piton rocheux. Et enfin, vous découvrirez, niché au pied de ce gigantesque bloc de pierre, un petit village, paisible, aux allures médiévales et au charme tout provençal.

C'est Rougon, posé là comme une halte idéale pour contempler les paysages magnifiques des Alpes de Haute Provence. Seul au milieu d'un décor dépouillé, d'une grande majesté, et d'une dimension à couper le souffle, Rougon vous offre une vue imprenable sur le Grand Canyon du Verdon.

Les Rougonnais étaient autrefois surnommés les "Mange-Glands", ce qui vous montre que la richesse n'était pas au rendez-vous dans tous les foyers ! Et de fait, le village a vu sa population diminuer au fil des siècles, et se réduit désormais à moins de 90 habitants...

Mais le tourisme drainé par les Gorges du Verdon fait dès les vacances reprendre vigueur à ce pays qui vous permet de belles randonnées, dans des panoramas exceptionnels.

Que ce soit pour vous promener dans des ruelles typiques de Provence, ou pour plonger le regard au fond des gorges, ou le porter sur les sommets environnants, vous ne regretterez pas une seconde d'avoir fait ce très léger détour sur les routes habituelles.

Hôtels - Terrains de Camping - Gîtes et chambres d'hôtes

Renseignements utiles

Mairie : 04 92 83 66 32

En images

Au coeur de la nature Le Point Sublime Un village paisible Chapelle Saint Christophe Vue du village